Jeffrey L. Kohanek

A note from the author:

Greetings, fellow adventurers! This is fantasy author Jeffrey L. Kohanek, sharing a bit of background about me and my first book.

From a young age, I’ve felt driven by an internal desire to create. With an early love for heroes with super powers, I found my childhood-self creating my own comic books. In 4th grade, I stepped through the wardrobe and never looked back, eschewing comics for journeys to wondrous lands such as Narnia and Middle Earth. In my teens, my love for epic fantasy grew to a crescendo with the Belgariad and Riftwar series both capturing my imagination, leaving me enthralled with the idea of discovering magical abilities and learning to harness them. When I finally decided to write my own epic fantasy series, it was with the desire to instill that same sense of wonder in my readers.

The Buried Symbol is the first book in The Runes of Issalia trilogy. It is a zero-to-hero story set within a world where runes have inherent meaning. Citizens are marked at birth, assigning them their vocation and caste status for life. The main character is among the 1% who receive no rune, which makes the teen an outcast. When he illegally obtains a fake rune, he journeys to a school for the elite and enters under a false identity. There, he begins to uncover secrets long-hidden, including a lost magic that he learns to harness. With the reader sharing in the discovery process, the magic system is well defined and logic-based. Being a trilogy, there are underlying plot lines and conspiracies throughout, with only the tip of the proverbial iceberg becoming exposed in book one.


Jeffrey L. Kohanek

Read More

Jeff's Latest Blog Post

Issalia Reading Order
January 23, 2019 by Jeffrey L. Kohanek

When I began writing the Runes of Issalia series, I had a firm grasp of the story and knew from the start that it would result in a three-book series. What I never counted on were the stories that would come later, all set in the same world. This resulted in eight full-length novels and a novella with multiple entry points for new readers to consider. At the same time, these choices create confusion for readers who wish to experience the full saga of Issalia. 

Where should I begin? readers ask me. Honestly, The Buried Symbol, Rogue Legacy, A Warden's Purpose, and ICON are all potential options, but if you intend to read them all and desire the best reader experience, begin with The Buried Symbol and then follow the chart below. Even then, if you have questions, feel free to reach out to me. I love to engage with readers and there is nothing I enjoy discussing more than the stories and characters I have created.

As an update regarding upcoming books, I recently finished writing the final entry in the Wardens of Issalia series. A Kingdom Under Siege is set to release in May, but eBook readers can enjoy the story early by purchasing the Wardens of Issalia Boxed Set, which will include all four books at a special, limited-time price when it releases on April 4th, 2019.

Best Wishes,